Bertrand.pt - When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air (eBook)

de Paul Kalanithi 

idioma: Inglês
Editor: Random House Publishing Group
Edição ou reimpressão: janeiro de 2016
13,69€
Disponibilidade Imediata
Ebook para ADE

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER *;For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BYTHE WASHINGTON POST*; THE NEW YORK TIMES *; NPRBOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALISTAt the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a nave medical student ';possessed,' as he wrote, ';by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life' into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. ';I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything,' he wrote. ';Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: ';I can't go on. I'll go on.'' When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.Praise for When Breath Becomes Air';I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to himpassionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to dieso well.'Janet Maslin, The New York Times ';An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring.'The Washington Post ';Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead.'The Boston Globe ';Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading.'USA Today ';It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so originaland so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early.'Entertainment Weekly';Split my head open with its beauty.'Cheryl Strayed

When Breath Becomes Air
ISBN: 9780812988413 Ano de edição ou reimpressão: 01-2016 Editor: Random House Publishing Group Idioma: Inglês Páginas: 256 Tipo de Produto: eBook Formato: ePUB i Classificação Temática: eBooks  >  eBooks em Inglês  >  Outros

Sugestões

Marty
6,46€
(eBook)
BookBaby
Ideas To Getting Started Online Fast
X
O QUE É O CHECKOUT EXPRESSO?


O ‘Checkout Expresso’ utiliza os seus dados habituais (morada e/ou forma de envio, meio de pagamento e dados de faturação) para que a sua compra seja muito mais rápida. Assim, não tem de os indicar de cada vez que fizer uma compra. Em qualquer altura, pode atualizar estes dados na sua ‘Área de Cliente’.

Para que lhe sobre mais tempo para as suas leituras.