Bertrand.pt - Sao Bernardo

Sao Bernardo

de Graciliano Ramos 

idioma: Inglês
Editor: RANDOM HOUSE USA INC
Edição ou reimpressão: janeiro de 2020
Portes
Grátis
10%
16,25€
Poupe 1,63€ (10%) Cartão Leitor Bertrand
Envio até 10 dias
portes grátis

A masterwork about backcountry life by one of Brazil's most celebrated novelists. In 1941, a national literary poll in Brazil named Graciliano Ramos one of the country's ten greatest novelists - one of only four living authors on the list. His reputation has only increased there in the sixty years since his death. Brazilian readers fight over which of his novels is their favorite.

Now St. Bernardo, his second-to-last novel, has been freshly translated for North American readers. This gritty, dryly funny book tells the story of Paulo Honório, a field hand who learns to read and write in jail, emerging with the ambition of buying and restoring to greatness the now-decrepit property where he was once a day laborer.

St. Bernardo, named for his ranch, is the memoir of his rise and fall, written in his own rough-hewn voice. Flavored with subtle ironies and rich local idioms, St. Bernardo will appeal to readers of William Faulkner and Juan Rulfo, anyone who loves a tragicomic story of a striving outsider and self-made man, ruthless and tender in turns.

Sao Bernardo
ISBN: 9781681373850 Ano de edição ou reimpressão: 01-2020 Editor: RANDOM HOUSE USA INC Idioma: Inglês Dimensões: 127 x 203 x 25 mm Encadernação: Capa mole Páginas: 248 Tipo de Produto: Livro Classificação Temática: Livros  >  Livros em Inglês  >  Literatura  >  Ficção

Sugestões

Call Me By Your Name
10%
portes grátis
10% Cartão Leitor Bertrand
11,00€
Atlantic Books
Summer
10%
portes grátis
10% Cartão Leitor Bertrand
20,35€

de Ali Smith 

PENGUIN BOOKS LTD
X
O QUE É O CHECKOUT EXPRESSO?


O ‘Checkout Expresso’ utiliza os seus dados habituais (morada e/ou forma de envio, meio de pagamento e dados de faturação) para que a sua compra seja muito mais rápida. Assim, não tem de os indicar de cada vez que fizer uma compra. Em qualquer altura, pode atualizar estes dados na sua ‘Área de Cliente’.

Para que lhe sobre mais tempo para as suas leituras.