- The Story Prize

The Story Prize (eBook)

15 Years Of Great Short Fiction


idioma: Inglês
Editor: Catapult
Edição ou reimpressão: março de 2019
Pré-lançamento - envio a partir de 01-03-2019
Ebook para ADE

The Story Prizewhich recognizes the best story collection to be published each yearhas quickly established itself as a nifty jewel in a writers crown.The New York Times

This anthology of short stories marks the fifteenth anniversary of The Story Prize and includes one story from each of the annual winning collections, beginning with Edwidge DanticatsThe Dew Breaker and concluding with Elizabeth StroutsAnything Is Possible.

The founder of The Story Prize, Julie Lindsey, and its director, Larry Dark, created this award to address the lack of one specifically for collections of stories. Together they choose three finalists from the previous years publications, which are sent to three judgesan author, a bookseller or librarian, and a critic or editorwho, independently of one another, relay their choices. The prize is then presented at an annual celebration in New York, where the finalists read from their books and then discuss their work with Dark. Excerpts from these interviewsor, in a few cases, the judges citationsintroduce each story in the book.

As for the stories themselves, as Dark writes: If youre looking for themes to mine from the fourteen stories collected here, good luck. Each is distinctive, sometimes jarringly different in tone, scope, and language from the story that proceeds and follows it. For instance, Patrick OKeeffes elegiac novella set in rural Ireland hands the baton to Mary Gordons short humorous story that takes place in a New York City podiatrists office. After Tobias Wolffs brief classic story about a literary critic who experiences a succession of memories in the nanoseconds before he dies from a gunshot wound comes Daniyal Mueenuddins detailed exploration of the life of a Pakistani servant that unfolds over many years.

The other winners whose stories are collected here are Jim Shepard, Anthony Doerr, Steven Millhauser, Claire Vaye Watkins, George Saunders, Elizabeth McCracken, Adam Johnson, and Rick Bass. The authors chose each of the stories included to read at the annual Story Prize event, and each is a small miracle of inventiveness and passion.

The Story Prize
15 Years Of Great Short Fiction
ISBN: 9781936787647 Ano de edição ou reimpressão: Editor: Catapult Idioma: Inglês Tipo de Produto: eBook Formato: ePUB i Classificação Temática: eBooks  >  eBooks em Inglês  >  Literatura  >  Contos


How To Fracture A Fairy Tale

O ‘Checkout Expresso’ utiliza os seus dados habituais (morada e/ou forma de envio, meio de pagamento e dados de faturação) para que a sua compra seja muito mais rápida. Assim, não tem de os indicar de cada vez que fizer uma compra. Em qualquer altura, pode atualizar estes dados na sua ‘Área de Cliente’.

Para que lhe sobre mais tempo para as suas leituras.