imagem não disponível
Diamonds At The Lost And Found: A Memoir In Search Of My Mother

Diamonds At The Lost And Found: A Memoir In Search Of My Mother (eBook)

de Sarah Aspinall 

idioma: Inglês
Editor: HarperCollins Publishers
Edição ou reimpressão: agosto de 2020
11,89€
Pré-lançamento - envio a partir de 06-08-2020
Ebook para ADE

For readers of Hideous Kinky, Dadland and Bad Blood; the astonishing, beguiling story of Sarah Aspinall's harum scarum childhood, and a love letter to a woman who defied convention to live a life less ordinary.My Mother attracted unusual people and events to her, and she made things happen....Sarah Aspinall grew up in the glittering wake of her irrepressible mother Audrey. Born into poverty in 1930s Liverpool, Audrey had always known that she was destined for better things and was determined to shape that destiny for herself. From the fading seaside glamour of Southport, to New York and Hollywood, to post-war London and the stately homes of the English aristocracy, Audrey stylishly kicked down every door that opened to her, on a ceaseless quest for excitement - and for love.Once Sarah was born, she became Audrey's companion on her adventures, travelling the world, scraping together an education for herself from the books found in hotels or given to her by strangers, and living on Audrey's charm as they veered from luxury to poverty - an accessory to her mother's desperate search for 'the one'.As Sarah grew older, she realised that theirs was a life hung about My Mother attracted unusual people and events to her, and she made things happen....Sarah Aspinall grew up in the glittering wake of her irrepressible mother Audrey. Born into poverty in 1930s Liverpool, Audrey had always known that she was destined for better things and was determined to shape that destiny for herself. From the fading seaside glamour of Southport, to New York and Hollywood, to post-war London and the stately homes of the English aristocracy, Audrey stylishly kicked down every door she encountered, on a ceaseless quest for excitement - and for love.Once Sarah was born, she became Audrey's companion on her adventures, travelling the world, scraping together an education for herself from the books found in hotels or given to her by strangers, and living on Audrey's charm as they veered from luxury to poverty - an accessory to her mother's desperate search for 'the one'.As Sarah grew older, she realised that theirs was a life hung about with mysteries. Why, for instance, had they spent ages living in a godforsaken motel in the Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina? Who was the charming Sabet Sabescue, and what was his hold over Audrey during several months in Cairo? And what on earth happened to the heirlooms that an ancient heiress, Miss Gillette, gave Sarah when they visited her in Palm Springs? And why, when they returned to Southport was Audrey ostracised by the society she so longed to be part of?Diamonds at the Lost and Found tells the story of how Sarah eventually pulled free of her mother's gravitational pull to carve out a destiny of her own. It is a beguiling testament to dreams, defying convention and exasperated love.

Diamonds At The Lost And Found: A Memoir In Search Of My Mother
de Sarah Aspinall 
ISBN: 9780008375171 Ano de edição ou reimpressão: 08-2020 Editor: HarperCollins Publishers Idioma: Inglês Páginas: 272 Tipo de Produto: eBook Formato: ePUB i Classificação Temática: eBooks  >  eBooks em Inglês  >  Literatura  >  Biografias

Sugestões

Cardinal Newman
8,49€
(eBook)
Orion
Strange Journey
179,67€
(eBook)
ACADEMIC STUDIES PRESS
X
O QUE É O CHECKOUT EXPRESSO?


O ‘Checkout Expresso’ utiliza os seus dados habituais (morada e/ou forma de envio, meio de pagamento e dados de faturação) para que a sua compra seja muito mais rápida. Assim, não tem de os indicar de cada vez que fizer uma compra. Em qualquer altura, pode atualizar estes dados na sua ‘Área de Cliente’.

Para que lhe sobre mais tempo para as suas leituras.